And This Is Only the Beginning…

These two came to visit two weekends ago and it was fan-freakin’-tastic to have them here. I love they had the chance to experience first hand the beauty of Whole Circle. We shared three lovely days together – 2 nights at the farm and 1 at a bed & breakfast near Niagara on the Lake – right in the heart of wine country. Saturday we spent the day exploring Toronto and ended with an evening with guitars and singing back at the farm.

Sunday morning we woke up early to milk before heading to Niagara Falls early in the afternoon. After the Falls we toured three wineries in wine country, two of which are the only certified biodynamic in Canada. Below is a snapshot from our spread at Southbrook Winery before we ventured to Ravine Vineyard. We sampled a good amount which led to buying more bottles than anticipated… ha, whoops! I’m not complaining.

Sunday evening we enjoyed a long and tasty dinner at a lakeside farm-to-table restaurant in the small town we spent the night. I talked their ears off about all the great things I’m learning up here, the amazing people that have come into my life, and my million ideas. They filled me in on all the things happening back at home in Illinois, our farm, and things I’ve missed with friends & family. Being without a phone here has me somewhat out of the loop – but I try my hardest to play catch up every once in awhile.


After my parents left it was back to work, work, work…. and play! Courtney, LolaJean and myself attended a Full Moon’s Women Circle Wednesday evening to celebrate the full moon in the presence of women of all ages. We sang, shared stories, and honored the beauty of the moon cycle. I found it quite fitting that while I was sharing my story with the group, a hummingbird flew into view at the other edge of the porch. In Native American culture hummingbirds are regarded as the bearers of joy, life, and love (and it happened to be the first one I’ve seen all year!). What I happened to be sharing with the group at the moment the little bird flew into my view, was how strongly I had been feeling my Grandma’s presence the past week. I felt her strongest at my acupuncture/Reiki a few days prior. It was an incredibly powerful, healing session – I left knowing my Grandma’s spirit is very much a part of my present life that is so rich of joy, life, and love. To say I  feel life stronger now more than ever would be an understatement. My heart, my soul, literally feels like it’s shining from the inside out. All this excitement has my brain exploding with ideas. And this is only the beginning…

Thankfully for you, I have a DIY recipe to share, to spread some inspiration from my exploding brain. Katie actually inspired me to make this toothpaste – which now has me wanting to brush my teeth four times a day. No joke. I look forward to waking up and going to bed just to brush my teeth. I swear I am normal.

DIY Toothpaste

Combine equal parts baking soda and coconut oil in a small glass jar with a wide lid. To begin I started with 4 TBSP of each. Add in a few drops of essential oil of choice: spearmint, peppermint, fennel, etc. I choose peppermint. Optional few drops of liquid stevia extract if desired. Mix well and there ya go! How easy, quick, and cheap. Your teeth will never feel cleaner and your smile will be brighter, promise!

_____________________________________________________________________________________________

In other farming related news – we’ve been hit hard by colorado potato beetle and flea beetles. We lost most our potato crop, field peppers & tomatoes, and we had to strip the kale down this week (darn flea beetles destroying my favorite food!). But we harvested gorgeous carrots and red onion in their place Tuesday. Looking forward to fresh carrot juice soon!

I finally worked through my hesitation to feed the pigs alone. Times have changed and I now look forward to chores by myself. The pigs are still crazy but I guess that is what I love about them. Because if they weren’t crazy, there wouldn’t have been that challenge for me to work through.

Rebecca is back at the farm after spending a week recovering in Toronto from an injury. Even though she cannot join us in the field for awhile, it is great to have her back with the family!

One thought on “And This Is Only the Beginning…

Share Your Thoughts

