Spinach soup & then some

Before I submersed myself in a delightful yoga session at home this morning (Sean Conley podcast, of course!), I made a full on mess in my teeny tiny kitchen. When I started I thought I was only going to make my usual breakfast but it quickly turned into a bit more. I blame the energy I got from sipping the greens…

First was this morning’s green that included:

Handful of kale
Handful of romaine
2 celery stalks
1/2 lemon
1 cuke, peeled
1 1/2 apples
1 small piece of pineapple (what was leftover from what I wolfed down while washing the veggies)
2′ piece of ginger

Per usual… best breakfast eva.

I got ambitious and figured I’d make a carrot juice since I haven’t for awhile and had 5 lbs in my fridge. Then I thought I’d kill two birds with one stone and make spinach soup if I was juicing carrots. SO, into the juicer went 2.5 lb of carrots. All washed & ends chopped off.

Carrot pulp was saved and stashed in fridge for a creation to be decided upon later this week. Probably crackers or a raw bread in the dehydrator.

I saved roughly 8 ounces of carrot juice for my snack and threw the rest in the blender. Finished up the juice with some jalapeno (obsessed), an apple, lemon, and ginger.

At this point I had food and utensils everywhere. My kitchen imploded. I had carrot pulp all over my floor, bags of compost in my drying rack and on the stove, veggies in the drying rack, lettuce on top of my fridge, food all over my stove and in my sink(!!), the veggies in the sink were sharing space with dirty dishes, juicer parts all over….. ah. If you’ve seen my kitchen you know it’s a feat just to cut an apple. No joke.

Once I got ahold of the mess I made the soup. SO good!

Spinach Soup

~16 ounces carrot juice
5 SMALL cloves of garlic
1″ piece of peeled, fresh ginger
tiny chunk of jalapeno
touch of lemon juice
LOTS of spinach
Fresh pepper

Blend everything except the spinach until well blended. Add spinach and fill to top. Blend. Add more. Blend. Add more. Blend. Add more. You get the picture.

I thought I went a little nuts with the garlic. However, five cloves was in fact perfect. The sweetness from the carrot toned down the power of the garlic. I enjoyed this cold, alongside a kale, carrot pulp, and mushroom salad with dijon lemon dressing. Yum.

I’d say I got my dose of greens today.

4 thoughts on “Spinach soup & then some

  1. Pingback: Warm Weather Inspiration | enjoy this organic life

  2. The Spinach Soup sounds awesome. Definitely on this weekend’s menu. Thanks, as always, for the delicious and nutritious recipes.

Share Your Thoughts

