Twinkie vs. Carrot

Why does a twinkie cost less than a bundle of carrots? Michael Pollan will sum it up for you in under two minutes:

Twinkie vs. Carrot

Last night in my Sustainable Consumption class it was brought up that Hostess filed for bankruptcy. At first someone mentioned the twinkie was no longer going to exist. WHAT?! I almost had a heart attack. Not that I’ll ever eat a twinkie again. They are however a (somewhat) unfortunate nostalgic reminder of my youth. My mom always let me go to the 7-11 to get my double pack of Twinkies after I had my haircut. Clearly I do not agree with anything that is associated with a Twinkie yet it would be strange if Ho-Hos, Hostess cupcakes, and Twinkies became a thing of the past. Yet it would be entirely what I stand for. Funny how it invoked such a strong, yet fleeting reaction.

Well, off to enjoy some CARROTS!

Share Your Thoughts

