2012 Will Bring…

I am not one to make new year’s resolutions. Whenever I feel I need to make an improvement on my life I do it with no attachment to time or place. I believe saying “starting the 1st I will make x, y, and z changes” is only delaying positive changes that 99.9999% of the time should be started once the thought even crosses your mind. So even though I am not attaching myself to a “new year resolution” I do have plenty of new routines, goals, and positive changes I have already begun to implement.

For a myriad of reasons November & December of this year left me feeling incredibly detached from myself. Recognizing this I knew that after the end of the semester I would need to make some SERIOUS changes if I expect to survive this upcoming semester. I have a very, very strong feeling this upcoming year is going to be full of wonderful new people, experiences, and personal achievements. If anything, I will be returning to Pittsburgh with some killer positive thoughts.

Some new goals:

1) Drink wheatgrass everyday. My wheatgrass juicer has been ordered and is waiting for me at my apartment. Cannot wait to start my trays of grass at home!

2) Train for my marathon entirely raw. This will be much easier with my latest additions to my ‘raw’ kitchen : spiralizer, mandolin, and dehydrator.

3) Blog more.

4) BIKE again. Thanks to my Mom, Dad, and grade school art teacher, I am a proud new owner of a used Schwinn Le Tour. It’s black, it’s shiny, and it’s in excellent condition. Best of all it has GEARS. Biking Pittsburgh will be a whole new world!

5) Improve my apartment’s health. Along with the wheatgrass I plan to grow more herbs & other various plants. Green both in and out of my belly makes me happy.

6) My health is my FIRST priority. It’s easy to let workouts and healthy foods slip when we are all bombarded with so many other commitments. Clearly putting my health to #2 or #3 was not healthy this past two months. It’s back up to #1. Meaning I’d rather be broke and get B’s yet eat healthy, have a gym membership, and practicing daily yoga/meditation/gratitude. A strong healthy body & mind are way more important than getting an A – even though I did manage to get straight A’s last semester!!! (an A++ in pissin’ and moanin’).

7) STOP pissin’ and moanin’. Life is too short to complain. The negative energy you send out to the universe with complaints is only going to attract more negative. Mom, feel free to refer me to this next time I call and am complaining.

8) Spend more time outdoors even if it is cold & snowy. I miss the forest preserve down the street from me… I will be spending much more time there even if my toes go numb.

What are some areas of improvement YOU are working on?

2 thoughts on “2012 Will Bring…

  1. While I have been thinking about my list of things I would like to improve on I had been procrastinating…but your list is making me create mine now! Thank you for sharing!

Share Your Thoughts

