Catching Up…

Where oh where has time gone?! I can’t believe I have already been here for an entire month… and sadly only two posts! I feel I am finally getting a firm grasp on managing my time properly with all the things I’m doing, but with each new week I seem to sign myself up to take on something else. Things I currently juggle (so pardon my excuses for anything, ever):

-Researching for my assistantship
-Slow Food Chatham Co-Leader! Me & some friends are starting a chapter on campus. So excited to bring an internationally recognized organization here!
-Real Food Day Coordinator @ Chatham
-Yoga Flow Work Exchange
-Volunteering @ food bank, food pantry, and Grow Pittsburgh
-Trying to figure out how to avoid the steep hills in Squirrel Hill on my one speed bicycle. Still failing.
-Brewing a new batch of kombucha. Thanks to a VERY generous scoby donation from Miss Amanda West!
-Running around my gorgeous neighborhood and Frick Park when my legs don’t feel they are going to snap off from the all the hills. As a runner I now realize how good I had it in Chicago.
-Reading endless amounts of literature & writing papers that near fry my brain.
and doing all this without caffeine. I cut the cord with coffee back in January and still haven’t returned. I’m toying with the idea of chai or yerba mate. I may need it soon.

So yes, I’ve been settling into my groove here. I’m head over heels in love with Pittsburgh and wouldn’t change it for anything (… maybe a day roaming the countryside in France… that sounds amazing).

Two Sundays ago we had a Food Studies potluck out at Eden Hall Campus. Those in attendance were my cohort, the year above, faculty and some family. Everyone brought something to contribute & you can imagine what a group of foodies would bring…. lots of AMAZINGness! It was so nice to share homemade food with everyone and hang out at the farm. The building we ate in (where we also have classes) has a bowling alley and pool table. Yes, my school is that awesome… as are my teachers. Not only do I get to have class in the garden, munching on delicious tomatoes whenever I please, but my teacher instructs in her socks. Taking off your shoes is encouraged at Eden Hall. I’m so in love with this place.

My contribution to the potluck was a broccoli raisin salad. I’m still under the spell of a raw broccoli craze so in lieu of that I found this recipe on my favorite raw foods blog to share with Chatham folks. You’d never expect this to be entirely raw– the cashew dressing you make in place of mayonnaise is very deceiving to both the eye and palate. Yum!

Broccoli Raisin Salad

Cashew Dressing:
1 C raw cashews, soaked at least 2 hours
Juice of 1 1/2 lemon
2 tbsp olive oil
1/4 C-1 C water
1 shallot (2 tbsp chopped)
1 clove garlic, chopped
Dash of stevia or drizzle of honey
1/2 tbsp mustard powder
dash of salt

Blend all ingredients on high until a smooth dressing is achieved. Start with 1/4 C of water and add little bits if necessary until you acquire the thinness/thickness of your choice.

Next… in a bowl add 6 C chopped broccoli florets, 1/2 red onion (diced), 1 C raisins, and 1/2 C sunflower seeds. Mix in the dressing and coat well.

You’ll never miss the mayonnaise and bacon bits! (On a side note… did you know that most bacon bits don’t even have BACON in them? Yep, just like Aunt Jemima “maple” syrup is corn syrup with maple flavoring, bacon bits are probably soy protein with bacon flavor).

If you have extra cashew dressing it also makes for an excellent hummus substitute. With some carrot and celery, I managed to devour the cashew leftovers in just a few minutes. Try it, you just might love it!

2 thoughts on “Catching Up…

  1. The salad sounds very yummy – I’ll give it a try. You sure have a plate full, but when you love what you do it’s wonderful. Enjoy!

Share Your Thoughts

