Awesomeness

Today was full of many great things (my title is so creative, eh?). I attribute this to great homemade food, beautiful sunny skies with cooler temps, and a new tent! yay!! I can’t wait to go camping and break this newbie in.

As for my juice this morning- make that early afternoon as a late morning & very successful business meeting got in the way (awesome #1). As soon as I got home I raided the fridge and threw these goodies into the juicer:

-1 medium cucumber
-4 stalks celery
-1/2 lemon
-1 in. nubbin of ginger
-handful of romaine
-giant slice of watermelon

yield: about 20 oz.
… and in less than 5 minutes it was in my belly! Awesome #2.

My mom and I ventured to REI and purchased a new tent. When I left Maui in March I left my tent with a fellow WWOOFer who arrived a week prior sans tent. It was a win-win. He scored a free roof over his head and I now scored a free, brand new tent (thanks millions to mom & pops). Awesome #3.

Decided I was really hungry few hours later and snacked on homemade tahini I made yesterday. Was NOT expecting it to be as delicious as it was! While packing yesterday I took a break to make the tahini I had prepped Monday… what I thought had turned into a culinary disaster was in fact a success. As it was a “disaster” at the time, there is no real recipe. I slaved in the kitchen for over an hour to try and develop the correct consistency, which I never achieved, but here is roughly how homemade tahini ‘paste’ is made:

Soak raw, unhulled sesame seeds for 8-12 hours. Drain in a mesh colander and spread evenly on a baking pan. Place in oven on the lowest temperature to allow seeds to dry but not toast. Or if you have a dehydrator- use instead! Toast if you’d like at the end to give them some extra flavor but it is not necessary. After a few hours, the seeds should be dry. Add them to a Vita-Mix or your food processor and grind away! Add some olive oil after a few minutes and con’t to grind. I owe my mishap to a disfunctioning Vita-Mix. I kept adding things: lemon juice, water, pepper, more oil, more seeds, more lemon, more water, you get the idea. Still not right. Transferred to food processor. Better, but not perfect. After an hour I was tired and so over tahini. I stopped. I threw what I had made in old jars (starting with 2 C raw seeds came 1 1/2 jars of paste). Today I snacked on this tahini spread wrapped in Dino Kale leaves and VOILA…. awesome #4.

Tonight for dinner I was about to walk out the door to grab something at Whole Foods and thought silly me…. I have a fridge of veggies! I whipped up some pesto to add to a corn and edamame salad and finished off the salad from Sunday night.

My Pesto was great- full of flavor and creamy. The Vita-Mix pulled through on this one. All ingredients are rough estimates and I eye balled the whole thing. If it’s too thick add more lemon &/or oil, and if it is too thin add more basil/parsley/arugula. In the blender goes:

-fresh basil (2 C??)
-1/4 C olive oil
-1/4 C raw, soaked walnuts
-juice of 1/2 lemon
-dash pepper
-dash of nutritional yeast

I mixed two large spoonfuls of this into a bowl of corn, edamame, and fresh chopped parsley. Yep, you guessed it… awesome #5.

And the best of all?? Enjoying it on the deck in cool temperatures with a gorgeous sunset!!! awesome #6.

Awesome #7-10 was speaking with my dear friend Max who currently lives in Argentina. I am so grateful for his friendship and cannot imagine life without him. After all, a life without good friends wouldn’t be nearly as awesome :)

Share Your Thoughts

